Please take a look at our Seasonal Learning Calendar


Children aged 0-5 follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework...

The seven areas of learning and development which shape activities and experiences for children in all Early Years settings are divided into:

3 Prime Areas – these lay the foundations for children’s success in learning and in life:
  • Physical Development 
  • Communication and Language 
  • Personal Social and Emotional Development 

4 Specific Areas – these provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:
  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

There are 3 characteristics of effective learning which help us to understand how children learn:

Playing and exploring: We observe how children use their hands (and other bits of their bodies) to play and explore. 

Active learning: We observe how children use their heart to want to learn.

Creating and thinking critically: We observe how children are using their heads to really think.

Information about the curriculum is displayed around the nursery to help you understand what we do. We observe your children carefully and use what we see to plan exciting activities that will interest them and help them learn, using natural materials whenever possible